Orientation week: What do I want out of grad school?

The first week of grad school was intense and exhaustive with all kinds of information being tossed at us from all directions. We started off with a formal introduction to the school, the department, and all the resources available at our disposal like the libraries, mentors, health benefits, and so on. Besides all this, a main objective of the orientation week was to decide the first two labs that we are interested to rotate in. The process involved meeting with several professors, going on lab tours, meeting other grad students and evaluating if a lab was a good fit for us or not. Although I knew the direction of research I wanted to pursue, discovering so many options and learning about cool new research areas left me wondering if I really knew what I wanted to be doing for the next five years! Right now, I feel like a first grader starting school for the first time and constantly being exposed to many things I never knew existed.

Grad school 101 - What I don't know
Grad school 101 – What I don’t know

Being in a big umbrella program, there are ten different training groups to choose from. First year graduate students pick four labs within any of the groups to rotate in during their first year. This is very different from a departmental graduate program where a student can only rotate in labs within that respective department. After all the decisions and evaluations, I have chosen my first two labs for the semester and I am looking forward to be officially starting next week.

This process has made me question some¬†decisions that I’ve taken in the last couple of years. “What do I want out of grad school?” seems to be the most significant one. Before beginning my journey, I knew that I wanted to train to be a good scientist, learn how to think, develop skills unique to my field, master techniques that will make me employable, learn how to learn, and be an overall well rounded researcher. Now I’m not sure if there is a definite answer to the question. It is something that I’d have to figure out on-the-go.

Leave a Reply

