Two months in: Last day in cancer lab

Today marks the last day of my first laboratory rotation. I want to pen down a few things that I learned and experienced during my time in the cancer lab:

  • Starting fresh in a new field of research was challenging at first, but got interesting once the different pieces of the puzzle were pieced together along the way.
  • Understanding the nitty-gritty of the investigation entails failures, failures, failures, followed by lots of optimizations and practice. Patience and perseverance is the key.
  • Staying positive and motivated throughout the journey can go a long way. My mentor/ senior grad student in the lab is one of the most optimistic people I’ve met in recent times.
  • Almost always, grad students manage multiple projects at the same time. It is essential to have a main project (or two) and a few side projects to keep the lab active, and research moving forward.
  • Taking a computing course along with the Biochemistry course has kept my study diverse and helped me broaden my thought bubble. At the same time, it has contributed to an additional pressure of having to take exams and submit assignments frequently (which I don’t want to be doing a lot of at grad school).
  • I nearly broke my arm while working with the french press for cell lysis (it really is a workout in itself!)
  • Having flexible working hours in the lab was good, but there were days when I took this for granted and ended up being awfully lazy. I am still learning to implement a fixed schedule for the weekdays to increase my productivity through the week.
  • Caffeine addiction is a real thing. I now even have a brew preference to satisfy my taste buds and more importantly, my brain.
Leave a Reply

